Tendring Awards

Tendring Volleyball Club celebrate 25th anniversary with Inaugural Awards Evening

On Friday 10 th June Tendring Volleyball Club hosted their inaugural awards evening to celebrate the success of the season and the clubs 25-year anniversary.

The club has a proud history that started at Tendring High School in 1991. Within five years the school won the National U15 boys. After 7 years, in 1998, the school represented England at the World Schools (ISF) and this success has continued to the present day. Both the men’s and women’s National Leagues are littered with former players that started their careers at Tendring. 

A number of individuals were recognised during the evening as being key to the establishment of the club, playing a major role in the initial success which included Mark Harris, Pete ‘Pro’ Robinson, Darren Lewis and Liam Chinnery. Alex Porter, Tendring Volleyball Club Chairman commented; “Over the last 25 years Tendring has been more than just a school team, more than just a club. Tendring is a family and the awards evening has been a great way to bring together current and former members to celebrate our silver anniversary. I hope this event grows in the future and becomes a key date in everyones diary for years to come.

“Our club is run not for profit; none of our coaches, secretaries, scorers, etc receive any money for what they do. They help the club because they want to, because they see the enjoyment it gives to the members, because they want to be part of our family.”

The awards were presented to members by Councillor Mark Platt (Vice Chairman of Tendring District Council) and Les Davies (The Clubs NVL Fixtures Secretary).

Over the 25 years the club has been established, it has never formally recognised or rewarded its members for the achievement of individuals who have gone on to represented their country as a player, coach or referee; until now! The number of individuals within the club who have been part of a national programme over the last 25 years has been huge for a club of this size. If you took everyone who has been a club member that has attended an England training camp alone it would be over 40!

The new prestigious ‘TVC Star’ International Honours award has now been awarded to current or former members of the club who have represented their country during an international match as a player, referee or coach. (They must have been a member of Tendring Volleyball Club at the time of representing their country, either as a current active member or former member where the club has had a direct impact on their success).

A full list of 2015-16 Team Award winners and those who have achieved the ‘TVC star’ International Honours recognition can be found below. To view the photos from the event click here


2015-16 Team Award Winners:

Tendring Lions:

Most Improved Player: Rob Sharman

Most Valuable Player: Aaron Jones

Tendring Tigers:

Most Improved Player: Claire Palfrey

Most Valuable Player: Alvie Co

Tendring Heatec:

Most Improved Player: Chester Searle

Most Valuable Player: Jack Bruce

Tendring Ladies Academy:

Most Improved Player: Amy Lane

Most Valuable Player: Alvie Co

Tendring Men’s 2nd team:

Most Improved Player: Chester Searle

Most Valuable Player: Craig Lawrie

Tendring Men’s 1st team:

Most Improved Player: Jack Bruce

Most Valuable Player: Derek Guimond

Tendring Ladies 1st team:

Most Improved Player: Millie Smith

Most Valuable Plaayer: Laura Hodgkinson


TVC Stars International Honours

International Playing honours at England Cadet Level: Tom Deacon, Nick Brand, Joseph Alhallak, Amy Lane

International Players honours at England Junior level: Tom Dean, Tom Robinson, Dan Warner, James Price, Alec Richardson, Matthew Rouse, Ryan Everitt, Mitchell Lawrence, Jonah Thomas, Jessica Lane, Fran Smith-Daye, Charlotte Bontems, Jack Nash, Sophie Lane

International Playing honours (Cyprus senior level): Katerina Lamprou

International Playing Honours at (England Senior Level): Wayne Davies, Sonny Channey, James Baker, Neil Masters

International Playing honours at GB level: Alex Porter

International Coaching honours: Liam Chinnery, Darren Lewis, Alex Porter, Neil Masters

International Refereeing honours: Sebastian Widlarz


27 members have been recognised for this 'TVC Star' International Honours award. This works out at on average of at least one person a year from the club being selected to represented their country as either a player, referee or coach – which is a fantastic achievement for a small town club of this size.

Special Thanks to: Clacton Beach Volleyball Tournament for sponsoring the local league awards, and the following local businesses who offered raffle prizes; Lifehouse Spa & Hotel, Wrights of Frinton, Mumford Tool Hire, British India and SLC Health & Fitness Club.


Tendring Awards tablesTendring Ladies 1st teamTenndring Mens 2nd teamTendring Tigers teamTendring Heatec team